9. Comic Relief 2013

Yesterday I completed, for me, a very difficult challenge! A SPONSORED SILENCE!

I’d wanted to do something for Comic Relief for quite a while now, I racked my brain for an idea that would be funny but also a challenge as well. I had to take into consideration where I work (a cafe) and how I could gain lots of notice for the ‘event’ with the customers that come into the shop!

I planned my outfit well in advance, and I took one for the team! Wearing all red! Red shoes, tights, skirt and a  Red Nose Day Stella McCartney t shirt with the ever so stylish Marilyn Monroe on it! I wore bobbles on my head and fake glasses to emulate the design on the shirt! All in all I wanted people to know I was doing something for such a good cause!

Comic Relief 2013

On my way to work I thought it would be a great idea to text in BBC Radio 1 to the breakfast show, on the off chance they would read aloud my message about what I had planned for the day…

the next thing i know is I’ve got Gary Radio 1 Breakfast’s producer calling me to ask if I wanted to chat to the man himself Nick Grimshaw live on the radio!!! Cue a very excited Jenny!

I chatted to Grimmy for about a minute before we went live just to discuss what I was doing, and just to chat really. It was like talking to a friend not a ‘celebrity’!

Anyway the live conversation lasted about 4 minutes and Grimmy kicked off my sponsored silence live on Radio 1! And from that point on I didn’t speak until midnight!

I used a white board to write messages to the customers as they all tried… and failed to get me to speak! The overall total hasn’t been counted yet but I have a feeling I’ve managed to raise over £300, which is such an achievement.

To think that £5 can buy a Malaria net for a family in Africa, what £300 can do will change numerous lives for the better.

x Jenny

2 comments

  1. supercalafashionistic

    OMG that must have been so hard!!
    The tee looks so great on you!
    I saw your post on the Company feed.
    Would love to follow each other on bloglovin?
    Let me know with a comment and I always follow back!
    You have a great blog and I love your style of writing!
    Love G xx

    http://www.supercalafashionistic.com

    • Jenny

      Thanks :) it was so difficult as I’m such a chatter box!
      I love the tee it’s so comfy too :)
      Ah, yay I love that there is a place to connect with other bloggers, as I’m still finding my feet!
      I’ve found you on bloglovin and followed you, your style is amazing! I really love your Kenzo post!
      I’m still finding my groove with my style so it’s nice to hear others like it!
      Thanks x Jenny

Leave a Reply

